Amigurumi – Giraffe

It has been months since I last blogged. Not that I hadn’t had time to crochet or work on interesting projects; in fact, quite the contrary, I was making a number of amigurumi in the last few months. It was just that I was too occupied (or, frankly, too lazy) to blog about the progress. The couple of months before Mother’s and Father’s Days have always been my busiest time of the year. My siblings and I have been keeping the tradition of hand making gifts for our parents on their important dates. I don’t know exactly when we started it but my guess is that I probably hand made my first Mother’s and Father’s Days’ gifts in kindergarten and carried on the “tradition” with my younger siblings ever since. Now that I am 24, I believe I will keep doing it as long as I have the time and ideas for handmade gifts.

Back to the topic, I spent a huge chunk of time on crocheting amigurumi during the last few months. This year is busier than usual with my Valedictorian brother graduating from high school and my decision to crochet a little doll for him. Nevertheless, I had a lot of fun searching for and creating patterns and making the dolls. I promise I will share what I have done in this and my next couple posts.

Without further adieu, here comes my gift for Mother’s Day—an amigurumi giraffe. Its neck might be too short to look like a giraffe to you. Nonetheless, it is cute and my mother liked it. A friend of mine said it would make a perfect baby gift.

I made this amigurumi giraffe based on an incomplete Japanese pattern. I slightly modified the pattern and translated it to English. I am sharing the pattern here and I hope you like it. Please don’t hesitate to contact me or comment on my blog with any questions and suggestions.

Here is the pattern in PDF: Amigurumi Giraffe Pattern (English)

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. alisha
    Aug 01, 2011 @ 20:47:34

    I love all of your crochet animals! I would love any patterns you would be willing to share 🙂

    Like

    Reply

  2. alisha
    Aug 01, 2011 @ 20:49:17

    …scratch that, I see ur PDF link now lol sorry 🙂

    Like

    Reply

    • sylviachow
      Aug 01, 2011 @ 21:08:47

      No problem. I am happy to hear that you like my crochet animals! I can send you the pattern for the hippo and the elephant in my previous posts if you want. In fact, I am so glad you commented on my post…I found that no one wanted to leave a comment when I disclosed the link in the post…LOL.

      Like

      Reply

  3. Era
    Aug 16, 2011 @ 23:35:27

    Your amigurumi are so CUTE! Great job– I love looking at your work.

    Like

    Reply

  4. Belinda
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 04:51:21

    As soon as I saw your youtube video I wanted to make. The giraffe is too cute. I would love the instruction for the other amigurumi especially the rabbit. I like to make for a baby shower gift.

    Like

    Reply

    • sylviachow
      Sep 11, 2011 @ 12:47:36

      Thank you, Belinda. The instruction for the giraffe is available in PDF in my blog post. Please feel free to download (you just need to click on it). There is a video tutorial on the rabbit on YouTube (links are provided in my blog post as well). I emailed the patterns for the hippo and elephant to your inbox. Let me know if you haven’t received them. I hope these will help you make an excellent and cute baby shower gift! 🙂

      Like

      Reply

  5. Eloise
    Aug 21, 2012 @ 08:56:01

    Hi Sylvia, these are so beautiful. I just completed the white and pink spring bunny.

    Please oh please could you send me the hippo and elephant. I want to make the elephant for my son (making the giraffe as well for him) and the hippo for my nephew as a baptism gift.

    Best regards,
    Eloise

    Like

    Reply

  6. http://google.com
    Feb 13, 2013 @ 07:33:31

    This is exactly the second posting, of your website I read through.
    Still I love this specific 1, “Amigurumi – Giraffe A Space of My Own” the
    most. Take care -Veta

    Like

    Reply

  7. jacky
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 19:13:13

    Hola me podrias mandar el patron porfavor jacky_chapy@hotmail.com

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

